Press "Enter" to skip to content

UCC Chancellor gets Top Job with Bank of America

Dr Sam Esson Jonah, Chancellor of the University of Cape Coast has been appointed a member of the Global Advisory Council of the Bank of America.

Dr Jonah, founder and chairman of Jonah Capital (Pty) Ltd and former Executive President, Anglogold Ashanti, is the only African among what the bank described as “internationally recognised business, academic and policy leaders who will share expertise and insights into the bank’s global engagements and help strengthen its worldwide relationships”.

 The council, to be chaired by the bank’s Chief Executive Officer, Mr Brian Moynihan, “will also advise senior bank executives on trends and emerging opportunities in local markets”. The council will be inaugurated in Hong Kong in March, this year.

A statement from the bank named the other members of the council as, Bader M. A1 Sa’ad, (Kuwait), Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer, Kuwait Investment Authority; Donald R. Argus (Australia), former Chief Executive Officer of National Australia Bank and former Chairman BHP Billiton Group; Thiery Breton (France), Chairman and CEO, Atos S.E., as well as the Director on the Board of Carrefour S.A. and former Finance Minister of France; Edson de Godoy Bueno (Brazil) President and CEO, Amil Participacoes S.A. and Director on the Board of United Health Group and Chong-Suk Choi (South Korea). Mr Bueno is also President and CEO, Chairman of the Board of Directors, Korea Investment Corporation.

Others are Kay Bailey Hutchison, former US Senator (R-Texas) and former Vice-Chairman of the National Transportation Safety Board and Advisory Board Member of the Centre for Strategic International Studies; Eijiro Katsu (Japan), former Administrative Vice-Minister at Japan’s Ministry of Finance and former Director-General at Japan’s Finance Bureau; Dr Jurgen Kluge (Germany), Director Emeritus, Mckinsey & Company, Inc., former Chairman and CEO Franz Haniel and Cie, GmbH, and Director on the Board of SMS GmbH; and Ali Y.Koc, (Turkey), Executive Board Member of Koc Holding and Chairman of Ford Otosan, and former group President of Corporate Communication and Information Technology Koc Holding AS.

The rest are Prof. Frederick Ma (Hong Kong) GBS, JP, former Secretary, Financial Services and the Treasury and former Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development, Hong Kong. He is also the Director on the Boards of Agricultural Bank of China, China Resources Land Ltd, COFCO Corporation, Husky Energy Inc., Hutchison Port Holdings Management Pte Limited, as well as the Trustee-Manager of Hutchison Port Holdings Trust and International Advisory Council Member, China Investment Corporation; Dr Patrick Soon- Shiong,(USA), founder and former Chairman and CEO, Abraxis Bioscience, founder of American Pharmaceutical Partners, Managing Director California Qapital Equity LLC, founder and CEO, Nantworks, and founder and Chairman, Healthcare Transformation Institute and David Westin (USA), as well as former President and CEO, Newsright LLC, and former President, ABC News.

source: Daily Graphic