Press "Enter" to skip to content

UCC SRC Hostel Goes To The Polls

All is set for the Students Representative Council Hostel (SRC) of the University of Cape Coast (UCC) to elect for the first time since the inauguration of the Hostel in 2010, its first Junior Common Room Council Executives.

Thursday, 17th of November 2016 is the date slated for the hostel’s maiden JCRC election. Polls would be opened at 7:00am and closed at 5:00pm at the Hostel’s Junior Common Room (JCR). Only level 100 and 200 students who were originally assigned to the hostel upon admission into the University would be eligible to vote.

Ahead of the elections, the administration of the hostel organized a presidential debate for the hostel presidential aspirants and the reading of manifestoes by all aspirants which was held at the hostel’s forecourt on the 15th of November 2016.

During the presidential debate, presidential aspirants were made to address questions from the students body who were present.

The Presidential aspirants also presented to the students through their manifestoes, policies that tackled a host of issues which included the provision of Wi-Fi in the hostel, the constant provision of water in the hostel, the construction of summer huts to aid studies among other things.

Below is the full list of aspirants. All aspirants are level 200 students.

Hostel Presidency 1. Darko Dennis and Catherine Antwi-Boasiako.

2. Abdul Wahab Hassan Cisse and Odoom Abigail.

3. Patrick Sarpong and Hulda Sakyi.

Hostel Secretary 1. Valerie Ofori Aboah

Treasurers 1. Patrick Agyasei Donkoh 2. Enoch Okyere

SRC Representatives 1. Narh-Madey Benjamin 2. Bright Omari-Sasu 3. Akrofi Bright Erasmus 4. Samuel Ofobi Bamfo

The Hostel could not hold its maiden elections during last semester’s SRC/LNUGS/JCRC general elections as a result of an injunction sought by a group of law students in the hostel on the basis that the persons qualified to contest the elections as at that time did not have a Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA), a requirement in the university’s hand book that should be met before one would be qualified to contest in the University’s SRC/LNUGS/JCRC elections.


Source: Latif Lawrence Jorhowie/