Press "Enter" to skip to content

UCCSMS Wins 4th Inter-Medical Schools Public Speaking Competition

The School of Medical Sciences of the College of Health and Allied Sciences, University of Cape Coast has become the first medical school in the country to win the prestigious Inter-Medical School public speaking competition for three consecutive times.

The competition which was keenly contested by the University of Cape Coast, the Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, University of Ghana and the University for Development Studies was won by UCC with an aggregate point of 79.75.

The competition focused on the topic; Towards mobilizing political and social will to modernize mental health care delivery in Ghana, the way forward.

The Dean of the school for Medical Sciences, Prof. (Mrs.) Gladys Amponsah said, they are proud to have won their first two prizes, but it is a very awesome feeling for the school to win its third competition in succession.

“We were very proud to have won the two prizes, the first competition we were not a part but the second and third competitions we were part of them and we won on those two pushes.

So today that we were hosting the competition, it was the philosophy of hosting and winning and right from the vice chancellor, he kept saying host and win and I thank the almighty God that this has materialized.

Everybody in the competition did extremely well. I just told the provost, ‘this is real competition’. In the past, we stretched them too much but this one if you win it means you are the top.

Last year, we stretched them by twenty [20] points and it was no contest at all but I think they have all learnt a few tricks from us, so I am very happy that our ladies have done so well”, Prof. Amponsah said.

The two representatives of the school will travel to Dublin, Ireland, for an exchange programme which is part of the winning package.

The competition was sponsored by St. Patrick University Hospital in Dublin, Ireland and Vincent Agyapong of the Professional Corporation of Canada.