Press "Enter" to skip to content

Newly elected Leaders of UTAG inducted into Office

The University Teachers’ Association of Ghana (UTAG), UCC Branch, has held a handing-over and swearing-in ceremony to officially induct the newly elected leaders into office.

In his speech, the re-elected President, Dr. Emmanuel Plas Otwe thanked members of UTAG for entrusting him with another two-year term in office. He expressed gratitude to the outgoing leadership for their effort and support in working for the welfare of the members.

The Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Prof. John Nelson Buah who chaired the function made reference to the Bible by comparing the re-elected President and Treasurer to being born again. He also paid tribute to the out-gone Vice-President, Mr. Theophilus Nartey, and admonished him to continue to contribute to the growth and development of UTAG and the University community in general even after handing over the baton.

In his closing remarks, the Pro-Vice-Chancellor reiterated the need for UTAG to contribute to national issues. He also advised them to be active in the association’s activities to foster unity among themselves.

The Chairman of the Federation of the Universities Senior Staff Association of Ghana (FUSSAG), Mr. Daniel Egyir Arthur in a goodwill address congratulated the newly elected executives and wished them well as they lead the association for the next two years.

The position of Secretary was handed over to Dr. David T. Doku by Dr. Kwame Kwarteng who then took over Vice-Presidency from Mr. Theophilus Nartey. The positions of President and Treasurer were retained by Dr. Emmanuel Plas Otwe and Mr. Jonathan Otchere, respectively.